Sankt Ruprecht an der Raab was first mentioned in AD 860 as ad Luminicham iuxta Rapam and at that time was a possession of the archdiocese of Salzburg. It became a parish in 961 and obtained the status of a market town in 1452.
The parish and deanery church Sankt Ruprecht [centre] was first mentioned in a document of 1187. The first church was erected at about the middle of the 11th century. Nothing remained of the Romanesque church and only the lower part of the church tower dates back to the Gothic period. The church was completely rebuilt 1728–1737 in Baroque style.
The public bath on the river Raab was opened in 1872.
A new bath house was erected in 1908 in Swiss alpine style.
The unique river bath is still in use today.